The Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Foundation was established in 1992. It is a single-purpose foundation with the goal of providing an endowment fund to support the Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park.

Contributions and Distributions

The Foundation accepts contributions to the general endowment as well as to existing restricted and unrestricted funds. Named funds may be established with a contribution of $10,000 or more and can be designated by the donor for restricted use. Contributions may be made as cash gifts and/or pledges, including pledges in estate plans. Contributions of $1,000 or more qualify for permanent recognition. The Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Foundation is licensed by the State of Michigan, and under Federal tax law is tax exempt under Section 501(c)(3) as a Type III non-functionally integrated supporting organization.

The Foundation makes annual payments to the Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park according to the payment policy of the Foundation.

Board of Directors

The Foundation elects an independent, public Board of Directors.

Emeritus Directors

Earl D. Holton

Ray B. Loeschner

Fred Meijer (1992- 2011)

Lena Meijer (1992-2022)

Board of Directors

President, William J. Boer

Vice President, Amy L. Keane

Treasurer, Michael A. Gaudino

Secretary, Tamara R. Bailey

Director, John G. Baab

Director, Christopher J. Caldwell

Director, Saralyn Coupe

Director, Randall S. Damstra

Director, Michael R. Julien

Director, Nancy G. Kennedy

Director, Kathleen P. Maine

Director, Hendrik G. Meijer

Director, Jeffrey S. Padnos

Ex Officio, Candace Matthews

Executive Director, Susanne T. Veeneman

2022 Annual Report

... like a perennial plant in your home's garden, what you plant today will continue to grow exponentially over the years, bringing beauty and joy long after you move on. It truly is a legacy for all to enjoy.

Select a previous year to download Annual Report

In Appreciation of Long-Time Board Member, Dirk Hoffius

With deep gratitude and appreciation, the Board of the Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Foundation thanks Dirk Hoffius for his service to our organization. Dirk retired from his Board position at the end of 2022. Dirk has a long and distinguished history of service to Frederik Meijer Gardens &…

President's Letter - Annual Report 2022

Dear Friends, When there is bad news I like to lead with that. 2022 was not a good year for endowment fund investments. Both stock markets and bond markets were down substantially in 2022. Both down is a rare occurrence. As you see in the Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Foundation’s…

The Foundation Welcomes New Board Member, Christopher Caldwell

The Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Foundation is pleased to announce the appointment of Christopher J. Caldwell to its Board of Directors. Chris replaces long-time board member Dirk Hoffius; his two-year term begins January 2023. Chris earned his Bachelor of Arts in History at Hope College,…

Financial Report

Statement of Financial Position
As of December 31
2020 2021 2022
Investments at Market Value
Pledges, Gifts, Other Receivables
Total Assets
Less: Liabilities
Total Net Assets
Restricted Funds
Unrestricted Funds
Total Net Assets
Statement of Activities
As of December 31
2020 2021 2022
Revenues and Gains
Contributions Income
Investment Income or (Loss)
Total Revenues and Gains/(Loss)
Distributions and Expenses
Distributions to the Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park
Other Expenses
Total Distributions and Expenses
Increase (Decrease) to Net Assets

Download our Form 990.

Thank You

Thank you to our former Board members who have also served the Foundation.

Former Board Members

John D. Bouwer (2002-2019)

Judith A. DeLapa (2007-2012)

Pamella G. DeVos (1993-2009)

Dirk Hoffius (2006-2022)

James L. Hopewell* (2015-2016)

Michael J. Jandernoa (2005-2009)

James P. Keane (2010-2015)

Fred M. Keller* (1997-2001)

Deborah Hoffman Meijer (1993-2005)

Jack H. Miller (2002-2003)

Richard A. Morton* (1997-2018)

John M. Nowak (1993-2005)

Stuart B. Padnos* (2004-2012)

H. Edward Prein* (2004-2011)

Peter M. Wege* (1993-1998)